You are here

October 2018 Concert

2:30 pm
Sunday, October 21, 2018


Our 73rd season featuring great virtuosos, all Chicago area residents, begins with the talents of John Bruce Yeh, the longest serving clarinet player in the history of the Chicago Symphony Orchestra. He will perform the clarinet solo in a piece composed for him by Lake Forest resident James Stephenson. The concert opens with orchestral dances from the first great Czech opera, by the “father” of Czech music, and closes with the most popular of all Czech compositions, Dvořák’s “New World” Symphony.


Go To Videos

Musical Insights Free Pre-Concert Preview the Friday before this concert.
Learn How to Attend!

  • Smetana
  • Three Dances from The Bartered Bride
  • Stephenson
  • Liquid Melancholy

    John Bruce Yeh, clarinet

  • Dvorák
  • Symphony No. 9 in E Minor
    “From the New World”

Pick-Staiger Concert Hall

50 Arts Circle Drive, Evanston
See map.


Buy Tickets

All tickets are assigned seating.

Advance Sales

$32 Adult, $27 Seniors, $5.00 Full-Time Student

At the Door Sales

$37 Adult, $32 Seniors, $5.00 Full-Time Student

Children Free

Children 12 and younger are admitted absolutely FREE, but must have an assigned seat.
Please call 847.864.8804 or email for all orders with children’s tickets.

Musical Insights

Free Pre-Concert Preview Series!

Enhance your concert experience with a sneak preview — Composers come alive and their passions take center stage when ESO General Manager David Ellis and ESO Maestro Lawrence Eckerling take you on an insider’s tour of the history and highlights behind the music.

Maestro Lawrence Eckerling and David Ellis will explore the October concert program in depth.

The Merion
Friday, October 19 at 1:30 pm,
The Merion Crystal Ballroom at
1611 Chicago Avenue at Davis Street, Evanston.
FREE and open to the public.

Light refreshments will be served and casual tours of newly renovated apartments will be available after the program.


The Evanston Symphony Orchestra is proud to provide videos to educate you about the pieces we perform and, at times, the soloists who will be performing. The video(s) below are examples only and do not represent performances by the Evanston Symphony Orchestra unless noted.


James Stephenson's Liquid Melancholy with our soloist John Bruce Yeh.

New World Symphony (No 9)

The famous Largo begins at 10:10.